Allo' Expat Gibraltar - Connecting Expats in Gibraltar
Main Homepage
Allo' Expat Gibraltar Logo

Subscribe to Allo' Expat Newsletter
Check our Rates
   Information Center Gibraltar
Gibraltar General Information
History of Gibraltar
Gibraltar Culture
Gibraltar Cuisine
Gibraltar Geography
Gibraltar Population
Gibraltar Government
Gibraltar Economy
Gibraltar Communications
Gibraltar Transportations
Gibraltar Military
Gibraltar Transnational Issues
Gibraltar Healthcare
Gibraltar People, Language & Religion
Gibraltar Expatriates Handbook
Gibraltar and Foreign Government
Gibraltar General Listings
Gibraltar Useful Tips
Gibraltar Education & Medical
Gibraltar Travel & Tourism Info
Gibraltar Lifestyle & Leisure
Gibraltar Business Matters
  Sponsored Links

Check our Rates

Gibraltar Government


As an overseas territory of the UK, the head of state is Queen Elizabeth II, who is represented by the Governor of Gibraltar. The UK retains responsibility for defence, foreign relations, internal security and financial stability.

After an election, the Governor appoints the leader of the largest party in the unicameral parliament, as Chief Minister. The Governor is not involved in the day-to-day administration of Gibraltar, and his role is largely as a ceremonial head of state. The Governor is responsible for matters of defence and security only. The Government of Gibraltar is elected for a term of four years.

The Gibraltar Parliament (previously the House of Assembly) consists of 17 elected members, and the Speaker. Under the electoral system of partial bloc voting used since 1969, voters must choose 10 candidates, who need necessarily not be from the same party but usually are. The winning candidates are then chosen by simple plurality; consequently, a party seeking to form a government stands 10 candidates, and the party that forms the government is usually successful in having all 10 of its candidates elected; the remaining seats are usually won by the 'best loser' which then forms the opposition.


Country name :
conventional long form: none
conventional short form: Gibraltar

Dependency status :
overseas territory of the UK

Government type :

Capital :
name: Gibraltar
geographic coordinates: 36 08 N, 5 21 W
time difference: UTC+1 (6 hours ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)
daylight saving time: +1hr, begins last Sunday in March; ends last Sunday in October

Administrative divisions :
none (overseas territory of the UK)

Independence :
none (overseas territory of the UK)

See more information on the next page... (next)





copyrights ©
2015 | Policy